The voice of young people for the planet

We are at the European Development Days # EDD21 - June 2021 - and Marie-CLaire Graf - Focal Point at UNFCCC [United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change], co-founder of the sustainable development week for companies - asks us about the voice of young people for the planet
https://eudevdays.eu/

As the video is in English (English subtitles), we offer you a summary of the key ideas of this exchange:

It is necessary to include young people in decision-making spaces on an ongoing basis. But can young people be represented by a single ambassador? Their voice must be brought by a panel of young people representative of the diversity of their generation; we are also talking here about the inclusion of minorities or audiences far removed from European representation.

A question arises: how to include people who do not speak fluent English? Language is a barrier to the participation of young people. The translation of tools is a first level of action, but the language is not limited to the language chosen to communicate but also to the use of acronyms, often indigestible and misunderstood by young people. The European guide to youth participation must be updated in a language accessible to young people, as well as a simplified process that allows the participation of all

Interest in participation is a consequence of awareness of global issues and societal challenges. The working group advocates environmental education from an early age coupled with a capacity for action, such as spaces for discussion and expression to disseminate their actions. To move from the interest of young people to their participation, we must reassure them about their legitimacy, NO they are not too young, YES we will support them and promote their initiatives

Personal note - it is interesting to note that the key points of the working group were widely discussed during the Provox festival, during which the MFR were represented by 3 young ambassadors (more information to come)

More articles from the author

LEAVE A COMMENT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Articles on the same subject

spot_img

Latest publications

What is “ApprEUnance”?

For some time and in the face of current developments, this neologism has accompanied the changes taking place in the world of training. So it seems to us...

The first training session of the “ApprEUnance” program

November 2022 - Akureyri (Iceland) Initially imagined at the start of the program but postponed due to the pandemic, the first training session of the program...

Jeanne: Apprentice at UNMFREO

Currently a student at the University of Belfort-Montbéliard, in professional license Attaché to the International Development of Organizations (ADIO) I hold the position of youth project assistant in...

La voix des jeunes pour la planète

Nous sommes aux journées européennes du développement #EDD21 – juin 2021 – et Marie-CLaire Graf – Focal Point at UNFCCC [Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques], co-fondatrice de la semaine du développement durable pour les entreprises – nous interroge sur la voix des jeunes pour la planète
https://eudevdays.eu/

La vidéo étant en anglais (sous-titrée anglais), nous vous proposons un résumé des idées clés de cet échange :

Il est nécessaire d’inclure les jeunes dans les espaces de décision de manière continue. Mais les jeunes peuvent-ils être représentés par un seul ambassadeur ? Leur parole doit être portée par un panel de jeunes représentatifs de la diversité de leur génération, nous parlons ici aussi de l’inclusion des minorités ou des publics éloignés de la représentation européenne.

Une question se pose : comment inclure les personnes ne maîtrisant pas l’anglais couramment ? Le langage est une barrière à la participation des jeunes. La traduction des outils est un premier niveau d’action, mais le langage ne se limite pas à la langue choisie pour communiquer mais aussi à l’utilisation d’acronyme, souvent indigestes et incompris par les jeunes. Le guide européen de participation des jeunes doit être mise à jour dans un langage accessibles aux jeunes, ainsi qu’un process simplifié qui permet la participation de tous

L’intérêt à la participation est une conséquence à la prise de conscience des enjeux mondiaux et des défis sociétaux à relever. Le groupe de travail préconise une éducation à l’environnement dès le plus jeune âge couplé à une capacité d’action, tel que des espaces d’échanges et d’expression pour diffuser leurs actions. Pour passer de l’intérêt des jeunes à leur participation, nous devons les rassurer quant à leur légitimité, NON ils ne sont pas trop jeunes, OUI nous allons les accompagner et valoriser leurs initiatives

Note personnelle – il est intéressant de noter que les points clés du groupe de travail ont été largement abordé lors du festival Provox, durant lequel les MFR ont été représentées par 3 jeunes ambassadeurs (plus d’informations à venir)

Plus d'articles de l'auteur

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

S'il vous plaît entrez votre commentaire!
S'il vous plaît entrez votre nom ici

Articles sur le même sujet

spot_img

Dernières publications

Voter aux élections européennes est crucial pour la jeunesse

Voter aux élections européennes est crucial pour la jeunesse. Les membres de la commission Europe & Citoyenneté du Conseil d'Administration de l'Union Nationale des MFR se positionne sur les raisons suivantes.

Le Grand JT de l’Éducation du 18 avril

La chaine SQOOL TV s'intéresse de prêt au projet Tide! et interview Ronan - notre animateur territorial en Provence. Retrouvez son passage juste ici...

Campagne Erasmus+ « Rencontrez l’Europe, et surtout vous-même »

Faites rencontrer les histoires de Daris, Emma, Iman, Joséphine, Laurine, Maud, Nabil, Shérine & Yanisse.