The voice of young people at the regional council

This article was thought and written by Franja Gabrovšek Schmidt from Gorenjska Regional Development Agency, BSC, Business Support Center, Kranj [Slovenia]

On Wednesday, October 13, 2021, the partners of the VET4Change project visited Molsheim, a town near Strasbourg in the Grand-Est region. We met Céline Armspach - project manager at the youth and sports department and Mathilde - in civic service, who work at the Grand-Est regional council, to discuss youth issues and who gave us an interesting overview of the work with young people in the region.

The Grand-Est region is one of the 18 regions of France and covers 574 km333 representing 2% of France. In the region there are 9 young people aged 985.120 to 15, out of 29 inhabitants, which represents 5.553.600%. The Region has 17,7 high school students and each high school student in the region receives a computer for free. As part of the Lycée 217.000 system, 4.0% of students in the Grand Est region are equipped with a laptop computer at the start of the 100 school year.

The region invests one billion euros in different activities for young people on different themes. They focus on four major challenges as the keys to a bright future for young people:

  • integration and guidance of young people,
  • mobility,
  • entrepreneurship and
  • youth engagement and citizenship.

To facilitate the orientation of young people towards employment, the platform EAST for young people has been implemented. The platform gives a lot of information that can help young people to find a job. The platform is the response part of the challenge for the region which is to help young people find jobs and housing. It's access to information. In this regard also the device LOJ'Toît Young has been developed. The platform helps young people find accommodation close to their place of study or work.

Help young people to broaden their horizons. The mobility of high school and university students is offered by the region. Students can train abroad and can also work abroad. The regional mobility committee decides on the applications. For students, the ability to organize everything related to travel, to travel on their own and to communicate in a foreign language are the challenges and young people change and develop in this way. Often the lack of language skills is the problem, the language barrier is the challenge they face. Mobility is often a bigger problem for students in rural areas than for young people in cities. In this regard, the language platform for learning different languages ​​has been developed. It is the regional council's tool, to motivate people to learn foreign languages, developed as the new approach to facilitate the language issue.

Young is is a generalist platform and also a linguistic platform which gives young people various information (sporting and cultural events, reduction on good prices, videos of motivation of young entrepreneurs, young people involved in different associations,…). To date 190.000 young people have registered on the platform. The goal for the future is to also create the application for phones.

In the region, several frameworks of engagement and citizenship for young people exist. One of them is the regional youth council, which works in the same way as parliament. 72 young people reflect politics for young people - young people for young people, without any consideration for political parties. Young people can apply for the open call to be part of the regional youth council “young parliament”. The selection is interesting, it is done according to the random principle - lottery. They apply for the period of two years, every two years the members change with the new call. Young people from very different backgrounds can be part of the story.

One of the four main key challenges for a better future for young people is also to encourage young people to be entrepreneurs. To this end, they have developed two platforms, one at national level and the other at regional level. Youth entrepreneurship is the platform designed by the region as a framework to help young people as potential start-ups. They can also benefit from financial aid up to 5.000 euros for good business ideas. The Region is preparing the open call for applications with a business plan, addressed to all young people in the Grand Est Region. Supported companies must report on their activities for the first year. The region includes them in public events and also helps them in promoting their products and services. They make web series - short films with young people who have created businesses (vimeo short films).

What was interesting to see and hear from Céline and Mathilde is that there are also volunteers who work at the regional council. Because they want to be the voice of young people in the regional council and they want to be useful on the subjects that are close to their hearts. Matilde, who started as a civic service volunteer in the youth section of the regional council, will go to rural areas to meet young people, see what they are doing and facilitate access to their ideas to the regional council. She will tell them about the opportunities and the tools they can use.

Focusing on young people is one of the areas of work alongside economic development, the environment, transport, sport, vocational training, cross-border cooperation, high schools, etc. The Region is mobilizing capacities to support and prepare the inhabitants of the Grand Est, especially young people, for the accelerating transitions

More articles from the author

LEAVE A COMMENT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Articles on the same subject

spot_img

Latest publications

The Erasmus+ agency represented alongside European partners during #erasmusdays 2022

https://youtu.be/7vUU0jAXhdk Nous aurons le plaisir de recevoir Susana Major, de l'agence Erasmus+, à notre événement #erasmusdays2022 d'échange sur les programmes Erasmus+ portés par le réseau...

The use of European funds by the Osijek School of Tourism

They have accessed European funds amounting to 11 million euros to modernize the equipment used in the school, the buildings, the courses of excellence and to produce a change in the method of teaching subjects and manuals.

Non-formal education at the “Terre sans frontières” festival

Young people develop practical skills, receive public recognition for their work from the authorities present at the festival

La voix des jeunes au conseil régional

Cet article a été pensé et rédigé par Franja Gabrovšek Schmidt de l’Agence de développement régional de Gorenjska, BSC, centre de soutien aux entreprises, à Kranj [Slovénie]

Le mercredi 13 octobre 2021, les partenaires du projet VET4Change ont visité Molsheim, une commune proche de Strasbourg en Grand-Est. Nous avons rencontré Céline Armspach – chargée de mission à la direction de la jeunesse et des sports et Mathilde – en service civique, qui travaillent au conseil régional Grand-Est, pour échanger sur les questions des jeunes et qui nous ont donné un aperçu intéressant du travail avec les jeunes de la région.

La région Grand-Est est l’une des 18 régions de France et compte 574 333 km2 représentant 9 % de la France. Dans la région se trouvent 985.120 jeunes âgés de 15 à 29 ans, sur 5.553.600 habitants ce qui représente 17,7 %. La Région compte 217.000 lycéens et chaque élève du lycée de la région reçoit un ordinateur gratuitement. Dans le cadre du dispositif Lycée 4.0, 100 % des élèves de la Région Grand Est sont équipés d’un ordinateur portable à la rentrée 2021.

La région investit un milliard d’euros dans différentes activités pour les jeunes sur différents thèmes. Ils se concentrent sur quatre grands défis comme les clés d’un avenir radieux pour les jeunes :

  • insertion et orientation des jeunes,
  • mobilité,
  • entrepreneuriat et
  • engagement et citoyenneté des jeunes.

Pour faciliter l’orientation des jeunes vers l’emploi, la plateforme ORIENT’EST pour les jeunes a été mise en place. La plate-forme donne de nombreuses informations qui peuvent aider les jeunes à trouver un emploi. La plateforme est la partie de réponse sur le défi pour la région qui est d’aider les jeunes à trouver un emploi et un logement. C’est l’accès à l’information. A cet égard également le dispositif LOJ’Toît Jeunes a été développé. La plateforme aide les jeunes à trouver un logement à proximité du lieu d’études ou de travail.

Aider les jeunes à élargir leurs horizons. La mobilité des étudiants des lycées et universités est proposée par la région. Les étudiants peuvent suivre une formation à l’étranger et peuvent également travailler à l’étranger. Le comité régional de la mobilité statue sur les candidatures. Pour les étudiants, la possibilité d’organiser tout ce qui concerne le voyage, de voyager par eux-mêmes et de communiquer dans une langue étrangère sont les défis et les jeunes changent et se développent de cette manière. Souvent, le manque de connaissances linguistiques est le problème, la barrière de la langue est le défi auquel ils doivent faire face. La mobilité est souvent un problème plus important pour les étudiants des zones rurales que pour les jeunes des villes. À cet égard, la plate-forme linguistique pour apprendre différentes langues a été développée. C’est l’outil du conseil régional, pour motiver les gens à apprendre les langues étrangères, développé comme la nouvelle approche pour faciliter la question des langues.

Jeun’Est est une plateforme généraliste et aussi une plateforme linguistique qui donne aux jeunes différentes informations (événements sportifs et culturels, réduction sur de bons prix, vidéos de motivation de jeunes entrepreneurs, jeunes impliqués dans différentes associations, …). A ce jour 190.000 jeunes se sont inscrits sur la plateforme. L’objectif pour l’avenir est de créer également l’application pour les téléphones.

Dans la région, plusieurs cadres d’engagement et de citoyenneté pour les jeunes existent. L’un d’eux est le conseil régional des jeunes, qui travaille de la même manière que le parlement. 72 jeunes reflètent la politique pour les jeunes – les jeunes pour les jeunes, sans aucune considération pour les partis politiques. Les jeunes peuvent postuler à l’appel ouvert pour faire partie du conseil régional des jeunes « jeunes parlement ». La sélection est intéressante, elle se fait selon le principe aléatoire – loterie. Ils s’appliquent pour la période de deux ans, tous les deux ans les membres changent avec le nouvel appel. Des jeunes d’horizons très différents peuvent faire partie de l’histoire.

L’un des quatre principaux défis clés pour un avenir meilleur pour les jeunes est également d’encourager les jeunes à entreprendre. A cet effet, ils ont développé deux plateformes, l’une au niveau national et l’autre au niveau régional. Entreprenariat des jeunes est la plateforme conçue par la région comme cadre pour aider les jeunes en tant que potentielles start-up. Ils peuvent également bénéficier de l’aide financière à hauteur de 5.000 euros pour de bonnes idées d’affaires. La Région prépare l’appel à candidatures ouvert avec projet d’entreprise, adressé à tous les jeunes de la Région Grand Est. Les entreprises soutenues doivent rendre compte de leurs activités pour la première année. La région les inclut dans les événements publics et les aide également dans la promotion de leurs produits et services. Ils réalisent des web séries – des courts métrages avec des jeunes qui ont créé des entreprises (vimeo courts métrages).

Ce qui était intéressant à voir et à entendre de Céline et Mathilde, c’est qu’il y a aussi des bénévoles qui travaillent au conseil régional. Car ils veulent être la voix des jeunes au conseil régional et ils veulent être utiles sur les sujets qui leur tiennent à cœur. Matilde qui a commencé comme volontaire en service civique dans la section des jeunes du conseil régional ira en zone rurale rencontrer les jeunes, voir ce qu’ils font et faciliter l’accès de leurs idées au conseil régional. Elle leur parlera des opportunités et des outils qu’ils peuvent utiliser.

La focalisation sur les jeunes est l’un des axes de travail aux côtés du développement économique, de l’environnement, des transports, du sport, de la formation professionnelle, de la coopération transfrontalière, des lycées… La Région mobilise des capacités pour accompagner et préparer les habitants du Grand Est, notamment les jeunes, pour les transitions qui s’accélèrent

Plus d'articles de l'auteur

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

S'il vous plaît entrez votre commentaire!
S'il vous plaît entrez votre nom ici

Articles sur le même sujet

Newsletter MVTspot_img

Dernières publications

Conférence européenne pour la jeunesse

Nous sommes entendus mais pas réellement écoutés

La voix des jeunes au conseil régional

La focalisation sur les jeunes est l'un des axes de travail aux côtés du développement économique, de l'environnement, des transports, du sport, de la formation professionnelle, de la coopération transfrontalière, des lycées… La Région mobilise des capacités pour accompagner et préparer les habitants du Grand Est, notamment les jeunes, pour les transitions qui s'accélèrent

Le dialogue territorial pour servir la communauté locale

L'élément clé pour l'avenir est de pouvoir maintenir une connexion ouverte entre le MFR et la communauté et en même temps permettre les contributions de différents groupes de personnes ayant peut-être des points de vue différents, des expériences différentes et des origines culturelles différentes