Living in community: the example of the village of Lümanda

Day organized by Saarte Koostöökogu of the LAG West-Estonian Islands Partnership. In the morning we visited Tallinn University of Technology, Kuressaare College and the Small Craft Competence Center. The Kuressaare College contributes to specific blue economy sectors in Saaremaa by providing engineering and entrepreneurship education and R&D services. Marine technology and hydrodynamics research is conducted by the Small Craft Competence Centre. They showed us the wave generator with 60 meters of test area for boats, the only such test in the Baltic.

The second visit was dedicated to the village of Lümanda (860 people) where we were at the house of Lümanda welcomed and guided by Jaanika Tiitson, member of the board of the LAG who showed and explained to us very interesting local development projects. Lümanda House is the community house where people met and where under one roof there are all the important facilities and services for the local population (sports and culture hall, music hall, fitness, library, post office , literature club, youth centre, school kitchen, etc.). There are six different organizations in the Lümanda house. The community house is connected to the Lümanda school, we were welcomed by the director who told us that they were very careful that the teachers felt good. They have 73 students and 29 employees. The families return to live in the village, where the community is very active.

Also very interesting is the village of Leedri which is under the protection of national heritage, surrounded by stone walls, with houses very close to each other. The village has 70 inhabitants, the same number of young and old people, 25 farms, a strong tradition and a connection with each other. As part of the GAL project, they have repaired the old windmill, which was also community work. They have a juniper syrup production which is run as a family business based on local resources. Also on local resources is based the Lahhentagge distillery. All local products can be found and purchased also under the Saaremaa EHTNE product label in the Kuressaare shop.

More articles from the author

LEAVE A COMMENT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Articles on the same subject

spot_img

Latest publications

What is “ApprEUnance”?

For some time and in the face of current developments, this neologism has accompanied the changes taking place in the world of training. So it seems to us...

The first training session of the “ApprEUnance” program

November 2022 - Akureyri (Iceland) Initially imagined at the start of the program but postponed due to the pandemic, the first training session of the program...

Jeanne: Apprentice at UNMFREO

Currently a student at the University of Belfort-Montbéliard, in professional license Attaché to the International Development of Organizations (ADIO) I hold the position of youth project assistant in...

Vivre en communauté : l’exemple du village de Lümanda

Journée organisée par Saarte Koostöökogu du GAL West-Estonian Islands Partnership. Dans la matinée, nous avons visité l’Université de technologie de Tallinn, le Kuressaare College et le Small Craft Competence Centre. Le Kuressaare College contribue aux secteurs de l’économie bleue spécifiques à Saaremaa en fournissant une formation en ingénierie et en entrepreneuriat et des services de R&D. La recherche sur la technologie marine et l’hydrodynamique est menée par le Small Craft Competence Centre. Ils nous ont montré le générateur de vagues avec 60 mètres de zone d’essai pour les bateaux, le seul test de ce type en Baltique.

La deuxième visite était consacrée au village de Lümanda (860 personnes) où nous étions à la maison de Lümanda accueillis et guidés par Jaanika Tiitson, membre du conseil d’administration du GAL qui nous a montré et expliqué des projets de développement local très intéressants. La maison Lümanda est la maison communautaire où les gens se sont rencontrés et où sous un même toit se trouvent toutes les installations et services importants pour la population locale (salle de sport et de culture, salle de musique, fitness, bibliothèque, bureau de poste, club de littérature, maison des jeunes, cuisine scolaire, …). Il y a six organisations différentes dans la maison Lümanda. La maison communautaire est reliée à l’école de Lümanda, nous avons été accueillis par le directeur qui nous a dit qu’ils faisaient très attention à ce que les enseignants se sentent bien. Ils comptent 73 élèves et 29 employés. Les familles reviennent vivre dans le village, où la communauté est très active.

Très intéressant également, le village de Leedri qui est sous la protection du patrimoine national, entouré de murs en pierre, avec des maisons très proches les unes des autres. Le village compte 70 habitants, le même nombre de jeunes et de personnes âgées, 25 fermes, une forte tradition et un lien les uns avec les autres. Dans le cadre du projet GAL, ils ont réparé l’ancien moulin à vent, ce qui était également le travail communautaire. Ils ont une production de sirop de genévrier qui est gérée comme une entreprise familiale basée sur les ressources locales. Également sur les ressources locales sont basées la distillerie Lahhentagge. Tous les produits locaux peuvent être trouvés et achetés également sous l’étiquette de produit Saaremaa EHTNE dans la boutique de Kuressaare.

Plus d'articles de l'auteur

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

S'il vous plaît entrez votre commentaire!
S'il vous plaît entrez votre nom ici

Articles sur le même sujet

spot_img

Dernières publications

L’agence Erasmus+ représentée aux côtés des partenaires européens lors des #erasmusdays 2022

https://youtu.be/7vUU0jAXhdk Nous aurons le plaisir de recevoir Susana Major, de l'agence Erasmus+, à notre événement #erasmusdays2022 d'échange sur les programmes Erasmus+ portés par le réseau...

L’utilisation des fonds européens par l’école de tourisme d’Osijek

Ils ont accédé à des fonds européens d'un montant de 11 millions d'euros pour moderniser les équipements utilisés dans l'école, les constructions, les cours d'excellence et pour produire un changement dans la méthode d'enseignement des matières et des manuels.

L’éducation non formelle au festival « Terre sans frontières »

Les jeunes développent des compétences pratiques, reçoivent une reconnaissance publique pour leur travail de la part des autorités présentes au festival